Specialist Resourced Provision for pupils with social communication needs

At Golborne and Maxilla Federated Nursery Schools we have a Specialised Resource Provision for pupils with social communication needs, including autism.
The Early Years resource is situated within the upstairs mainstream nursery classroom. All children in Nursery follow the Early Years Foundation Stage ‘Developmental Matters’ Curriculum (EYFS). The Resource children are part of the mainstream Nursery class, joining in with nursery activities throughout the day and attending 1:1 sessions within the White Room for individual learning activities.
Children who attend the nursery resource base may not yet have a diagnosis of Autism but the impact of their learning needs may lead to a recommendation of educational approaches suitable for children with Social Communication needs including Autism. Additionally, children may have an Education, Health and Care Plan (EHCP) and/or additional learning needs.
Places are allocated by the nursery and in collaboration with the Local Authority Statutory Assessment Advisory Group.
Curriculum
All pupils start their learning journey being taught and assessed from the Early Years Foundation Stage ‘Development matters’ curriculum. Pupils will also have their own individual outcomes created from their EHCP.
After initial baseline assessments, the SENDco creates an individual personalised curriculum plan for each pupil. This encompasses assessment outcomes from a nursery team comprising of the SENDco, specialist teaching staff and a Speech and Language therapist.
This is a working document that continually reviews all the areas of learning including the pupil’s EHCP outcomes.

Our approach

Pupils are taught through structured and informal play-based activities within the seven areas of learning, which are: Personal Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development, Communication and Language, Literacy, Maths, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design. They will also have access to specific therapies, which will support their sensory processing, aid their communication and support their overall independence. Golborne and Maxilla staff are committed to ensuring that all pupils achieve their maximum potential and lead fulfilled and happy lives.
The provisions classrooms
The provisions classrooms are created using a structured, positive, low arousal environment that supports learning and communication skills. Staff use/follow:

• ‘The principles of TEACCH
• ‘Attention Autism’
• Total communication using a variety of approaches including: PECs (Picture Exchange Communication), MAKATON, SCERTS, and Intensive Interaction.
• 1:1 teaching sessions
• Structured personalised sensory sessions
• Gross and Fine motor activities
• Individual work stations
• Visual timetables
• MAKATON signs and symbols when teaching new vocabulary and concepts
• Tasks that follows small step principles

If you have any questions please contact Ms Veronica Hilliard, Head Teacher and SENDCo.

Term dates

Summer Term 2020

  • term starts – Tuesday 21st April 2020
  • half term break occurs – Monday 25th May to Friday 29th May 2020
  • back to school from half term – Monday 1st June
  • last day of term – Friday 17th July 2020



Autumn Term 2020

  • term starts – Thursday 3rd September 2020
  • half term break occurs – Monday 26th October to Friday 30th October 2020
  • back to school from half term – Tuesday 3rd November 2020
  • last day of term – Friday 18th December

 


Spring Term 2021

  • term starts – Wednesday 6th January 2021
  • half term break occurs – Monday 15th February to Friday 19th February 2021
  • back to school from half term Monday 22nd February 2021
  • last day of term Wednesday 31st March 2021

Summer Term 2021

  • term starts – Tuesday 20th April 2021
  • half term break occurs – Monday 31st May to Friday 4th June 2021
  • back to school from half term – Monday 7th June 2021
  • last day of term – Wednesday 21st July 2021

 



Autumn Term 2021

Inset days for this academic year to be confirmed

 

  • term starts – Wednesday 1st September 2021
  • half term break occurs – Monday 25th October to Friday 29th October 2021
  • back to school from half term – Monday 1st November 2021
  • last day of term – Friday 17th December 2021