The environment

Golborne9

Golborne & Maxilla Children’s Centre is as well-resourced and equipped as any nursery in the city. Our high quality resources help us to provide an excellent learning environment, both indoors and outdoors, and the outstanding outcomes for children demonstrate that they are being effectively used. 

We are particularly proud of our soft play room – this large room is designed to stimulate a range of senses in young children, and includes music and touch-sensitive lighting. All our children access the soft play area on a regular basis.

In addition to our regular learning environment, our children are also exposed to many other activities within the Centre, including Thursday football training, and we have fun celebrating many other days throughout the year such as Fitness Week, World Book Day and Sports Relief.

Term dates



Autumn Term 2019

  • term starts – Thursday 5th September 2019
  • half term break occurs – Monday 21st October to Friday 25th October 2019
  • back to school from half term – Monday 28th October
  • last day of term – Thursday 19th December


Spring Term 2020

  • term starts – Wednesday 8th January 2020
  • half term break occurs – Monday 17th February to Friday 22nd February 2020
  • back to school from half term Monday 24th February 2020
  • last day of term Friday 3rd April 2020


Summer Term 2020

  • term starts – Tuesday 21st April 2020
  • half term break occurs – Monday 25th May to Friday 29th May 2020
  • back to school from half term – Monday 1st June
  • last day of term – Friday 17th July 2020



Autumn Term 2020